Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

edsager
Adept I

AIO or new processor - got 5800X

Hello All,

I have been reading a lot about how the 5800X processor runs quite hot. I am attempting to cool it with a Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition.

Temperatures never get below 35 degrees C (tested with Core Temp) and whenever there is any usage, the temps quickly hit 50+.

Returning from sleep and it gets to 60+ degrees C. Same with opening a browser.

I am an architecture student and need to be able to render images with software like Autodesk Revit while also using Adobe Illustrator/Photoshop. When I ran a rendering with Revit for about 8 minutes, the temp of the processor shot up to 83 degrees C.

TLDR: I am considering getting an AIO or other air cooler or a different processor and have a budget of about $200 ($750 if I get a new processor).

My questions:

1. have (or how have) people been able to successfully cool the 5800X processor so that, if needed, they would feel comfortable having the processor running at full for 12 hours or more?
  2. would it be better to get a Ryzen 9 that runs cooler? If so, which one?
  3. or get a Ryzen 5?

Thank you for any information you can share.

My setup:

X470 (latest beta BIOS)

32GB DDR4 3200MHz

1 Solution

Thermal shutdown on these CPU's is something like 110-115 IIRC.  You're not going to run into this unless something goes wrong with your cooling system.

I torture test all my systems when I first build them.  I ran Prime95 FMA3 for 72 hours straight in a non air conditioned room in the middle of summer and the 5800X at default 90C thermal limit didn't give a single hiccup.  And this was on air cooling.

Everyone has different comfort levels.  Test your rendering workload while monitoring/logging the temperatures and if you don't feel comfortable with what you see, get better cooling and/or lower the Platform Thermal Limit. 

View solution in original post

5 Replies
ryzen_type_r