cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

OHherewegoagain
Journeyman III

5950x doesn't overclock

Hello, my 5950x is paired with an MSI x570 mpg gaming plus and a 64g 3200 memory. I have trouble in all core overclocking, for some reason no matter the maxed out limits in PBO, in all core situations it doesn't consume more than 120-140watts and hitting only 3500-3600 clock speed, manual voltage 1.35-1.40 and a core ratio of 43 crashes the pc.

I am new to overclock, so dont know how and why it happens when i see other 5950x hitting 200+watts 

0 Likes
10 Replies
Matt_AMD
Community Manager

What applications are you using on your system?

0 Likes

To monitor i use ryzen master, to load the cpu, i use prime 95, and cinebench r20

0 Likes

I was more getting at, are you playing games? If so, there is no point trying to overclock the CPU as it will just reduce gaming performance. The 5000 series processors come optimised for optimal gaming performance out of the box. No need to overclock all cores and reduce your performance. 

I use my pc to plot chia, the new cryptocurrency, it heavily relies on a multithreaded workload, so its very important to let the cpu use its power, cus now its a bottleneck 

0 Likes
flooberjobby
Adept II

I have an Asus Rog Strix X570-I motherboard, 32 GB DDR4 4000 CL 14 Ram, an SF 850 Watt PSU.

In bios, I have AMDs version of XMP enabled, and PBO enabled.

When the system is running, I use Ryzen Master to overclock. I have 4.9 all core, and it boosts to 5.2 in applications that don't need all the cores in my 5950X. I'm using an NZXT Kraken Z63 for cooling. The software did all the OC work for me. I just put what I wanted for goals.

0 Likes
Xorlosh
Adept II

What exactly are your PBO Setting?