Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

delToros
Adept I

5900x running very hot

image_2020-12-27_020923.pngHi! 

I've build new system with 5900x, gigabyte x570 master and z63 for cooling.

But my 5900x is running around 70 in idle.. I am no expert, but i think that is a lot for watercooling. I've set pum to max. 

Bios and drivers all have been updated.

What can be done to lower temps? 

My previous 2700x (with same z63) was running 35-40 idle

edit: it turns out that those numbers were while downloading game from gog.com.. Right now 43. But I am still Thinking that 70 just for downloading kinda hot

0 Likes
16 Replies
xesap58662
Adept II

Wrong

Check your usage before you post online

Ok. Right now I have 13-17% usage with 67-70 temps

Pump running on max, pupm fans at 70%

Is it normal?

0 Likes

Which watercooling are you using?

If your cpu is doing 13~17% at idle, you should check for malwares.

0 Likes

NZXT Z63

well, it was not idle, it had some download on background

Example: I'm playing ESO, usage around 15%, temps 70

I do not think it is malware - it was clean install. And from the start that kind of behaviour

Could it be - small amount thermal paste?

0 Likes

You should try the negative Vcore offset.  Try 0.0500V~0.1000V offset.

It will definitely lower the core temperature.

0 Likes

Ok, noob question how to make negative Vcore offset)? or any video explaining how)? Will it influence performance?

On the other questions:

It is build the same way system on 2700x was built - and it never reached above 65

As for cooling I have 011 xl case with

3 fans side intake

3 fans bottom intake

2 fans top aio nzxt z63 outtake

1 fan back outtake

I was thinking to switch to z73 aio, but as far as i saw reviews, it is not that big of a difference.

Interesting point: i saw amd statement in which they've said that cpu running up to 85 is "completely natural phenomenon". What are your thoughts about that?

0 Likes
benman2785