cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

cmermag
Adept I

5800x Worked Fine for 4 days, hard rebooted once and then caught in a boot loop after leaving Bios

Hello,

I'm relatively new to AMD world but landed a 5800x last weekend and wanted to give it a whirl. 

System: 

AMD 5800x
Asus Rog Strix B550-e (originally updated non-beta 1204 BIOS through usb)
G.Skill RipJaw F4-3600C16D-32GVKC 2x16GB
EVGA 850 GA PSU

Installed Windows 10 from USB stick, went fine. Switched over to 3080 from my 6700K rig, and had about 4 days of zero problems. Day 5, I had a game alt-tabbed and reading a web page and the computer randomly rebooted, then immediately proceeded to reboot after leaving the bios, first with a quick spin of the windows animated dots then reboot, then "windows automated repair" for a nanosecond, then reboot. I checked the PSU with a 1000W corsair I had from another system, same problem. I updated the beta to 1214 (beta), same problem. I pulled the memory sticks from slot 4, keeping in slot 2, same problem. The motherboard eventually got to a point where it wouldn't post with an error code 02 AP Initialization before microcode loading. I tried an older video card with the same problem. I returned the motherboard for a new one and got 2 new sticks of memory and just installed tonight with 1204 BIOS. Same problem. 

I tried re-installing from the same usb stick that worked originally, it would reboot immediately after trying to load the initial windows setup after the bios without errors.

I've tried re-installing from a different USB stick, both MBR and UEFI capable using RUFUS. I get errors when the stick tries to load windows: IRQ not less or equal, or KMODE_exception_not_handled.

Temp on idle in Bios - 40-44c
Freq: 3800MHZ
Core CPU Voltage: 1.472 (have notice a 1.488