cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

arionpza
Journeyman III

5600x Temps

this is my first time using the AMD products, i bought 5600x  and i have no idea with the temps with this cpu.

when pbo and cpb is auto i have idle temps in 60-77 and spikes and when gaming reach 90-95

when i disable the pbo and cpb temps stay in 55-58 and stable no spikes and gaming just reach 75-80

is this normal on ryzen 5000 series?

i use AIO Cooler MSI MAG 240r, and my specs is 

MSI B550 gaming plus

Corssair Dominator 3200mhz

Corssair RM850

msi 3070 gaming trio

case : msi sekira 500x 

thanks

0 Likes
7 Replies

Try MSI support forum, someone there should help with Bios settings for that board.

I idle 28-31, up to 70-75 in games.

Ryzen 5 5600x, B550 aorus pro ac, Hyper 212 black, 2 x 16gb F4-3600c16dgtzn kit, Aorus gen4 1tb, Nitro+RX6900XT, RM850, Win.10 Pro., LC27G55T..
0 Likes

did u run on stock? or u config the bios?

0 Likes

Config. bios.

Ryzen 5 5600x, B550 aorus pro ac, Hyper 212 black, 2 x 16gb F4-3600c16dgtzn kit, Aorus gen4 1tb, Nitro+RX6900XT, RM850, Win.10 Pro., LC27G55T..
0 Likes

Amd Ryzen processors will run like wild horses constrained only by temp, current and power.

The processors are EXTREMELY good at keeping within the specified Thermals.

The only thing is AMD thinks it is okay to let these run up to 90C for 105W TDP processors (5950x)

If you turn Core Performance boost off and/or PBO off,  the processor will run cool.

However you will see a substantial performance loss.

The best way, that I have found is to keep Core performance boost enabled,   PBO set to Advanced

Run Ryzen Master, and note settings for Max Temp,  PPT, TDC and EDC.

Go into BIOS and set PBO Limits to Manual.

Type in the same settings you saw in Ryzen Master,   

Set Thermal Throttle temp to Manual.

Then set the new field that shows up as "Thermal Throttle Temp"   to a Max temp value you desire in Celcius