Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

snoukkis
Journeyman III

result image from SimpleImage sample has artifacts

Hi!

I started learning OpenCL two days ago in Java with LJWGL. I loosely based by learning project program after the SimpleImage example that came with AMD-APP-SDK-v2.8-Windows-64. It does the same thing: just loads the image and writes it back unchanged. I got everything working, kind of...

... except very often when I run it, it crashes the display driver with the following error message:

"Display driver stopped responding and has recovered

Display driver AMD driver stopped responding and has successfully recovered."

And in addition the result image sometimes contains artifacts, even sometimes when the driver doesn't crash.

After countless hours of frustrating debugging I discovered that the original precompiled SimpleImage.exe has the same EXACT crash/artifact problem.

Here's the output:

SimpleImage_Output.bmp

The exact pattern of artifacts varies. Sometimes it's just strange lines, but mostly similar to the image above.

EDIT: When comparing multiple images with artifacts, I noticed that those random errors seem to reoccur in the same 8x8 pixel areas. Actually there seems to be two distinct configurations of those error boxes where those errors may or may not occur. Not sure what that means. Maybe those boxes correspond to some constant areas on GPU die that are faulty? I'm not a hardware expert though.

My environment:

- Intel Lynnfield Core i7 860 CPU

- Radeon HD 7950

- Windows 7 64-bit

- Catalyst 13.1

- VS 2010

- AMD-APP-SDK-v2.8-Windows-64

- Java 7 32-bit & 64-bit + LWJGL 2.8.4

So the problem is  easily reproducible with the precompiled binary and self compiled 32-bit/64-bit release/debug binaries as well as with the similar Java program I made.