cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

bz7
Journeyman III

Problem with selection sort ( using C#.Net and OpenCL )

Hi everyone

I'm a somewhat noob in programming and completely new to OpenCL !

I wrote some OpenCL code inside a C# Project ( using some online guide ) . its a selection sort but the problem is it won't sort at all ! it returns the number without any order

I really don't know what I did wrong so help me out here

this is the OpenCL code :

__kernel void ParallelSelection(__global int * in1)

{

int i = get_global_id(0); // current thread

int n = get_global_size(0); // input size

int temp;

for (int j = i + 1; j < n; j++)

{

if (in1 < in1)

{

temp = in1;

in1 = in1;

in1 = temp;

}

}

}

and this is the C# code :

* vecSum  is the string containing OpenCL code

//Initializes OpenCL Platforms and Devices and sets everything up

OpenCLTemplate.CLCalc.InitCL();

//Compiles the source codes. The source is a string array because the user may want

//to split the source into many strings.

OpenCLTemplate.CLCalc.Program.Compile(new string[] { vecSum });

//Gets host access to the OpenCL floatVectorSum kernel

OpenCLTemplate.CLCalc.Program.Kernel VectorSum = new OpenCLTemplate.CLCalc.Program.Kernel("ParallelSelection");

//////////////////////

//numbers

int n = 9;

//Create vectors with 2000 numbers

int[] v1 = new int[9]{3,14,4,6,-45,4,23,5,1};

////////////////////////

//Creates vectors v1 in the device memory

OpenCLTemplate.CLCalc.Program.Variable varV1 = new OpenCLTemplate.CLCalc.Program.Variable(v1);

////////////////////////

//Arguments of VectorSum kernel

OpenCLTemplate.CLCalc.Program.Variable[] args = new OpenCLTemplate.CLCalc.Program.Variable[] { varV1 };

//How many workers will there be? We need "n", one for each element

int[] workers = new int[1] { n };

//Execute the kernel

VectorSum.Execute(args, workers);

////////////////////////////

//Read device memory varV1 to host memory v1