Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

ssuarezbe
Journeyman III

OpenCL do not detect the number of APU CL_DEVICE_MAX_COMPUTE_UNITS correctly

Hi.

I'm just a novice in the OpenCL world and before start coding real programs I have just do some basic code to detect the available devices in my computer.

To do that I wrote this code.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#define __CL_ENABLE_EXCEPTIONS

#include <CL/cl.hpp>

#include <iostream>

// Get device type as string

char* getDevTypeString(cl_device_type type)

{

switch(type)

{

case CL_DEVICE_TYPE_CPU:

return "CPU";

break;

case CL_DEVICE_TYPE_GPU:

return "GPU";

break;

case CL_DEVICE_TYPE_ACCELERATOR:

return "ACCELERATOR";

break;

default:

return "DEFAULT";

break;

}

}

int main()

{

/* Host/device data structures */

cl_platform_id platform;

cl_device_id *devices;

cl_uint num_devices, addr_data,comp_units;

cl_int err;

cl_device_type deviceType;

char name_data[48];

/* Identify a platform */

err = clGetPlatformIDs(1, &platform, NULL);

if(err < 0)

{

std::cerr<<"Couldn't find any platforms "<<err;

exit(1);

}

/* Determine number of connected devices */

err = clGetDeviceIDs(platform, CL_DEVICE_TYPE_ALL, (cl_uint)0, NULL, &num_devices);

if(err < 0)

{

std::cerr<<"Couldn't find any devices "<<err;

exit(1);

}

/* Access connected devices */

devices = (cl_device_id*)malloc(sizeof(cl_device_id) * num_devices);

clGetDeviceIDs(platform, CL_DEVICE_TYPE_ALL,num_devices, devices, NULL);

/* Obtain data for each connected device */

for (int i=0;i<num_devices;i++){

/*Device proporties list

http://www.khronos.org/registry/cl/sdk/1.0/docs/man/xhtml/clGetDeviceInfo.html

*/

err = clGetDeviceInfo(devices, CL_DEVICE_NAME,sizeof(name_data), name_data, NULL);