cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

yhwan
Journeyman III

Does clSVMAlloc allocate physically contiguous memory?

Hi, I'm a PhD student working on building a software router with APU.

In order to take advantage of APU's memory sharing between CPU and GPU to process packets in parallel, I also need to enable zero-copy between my app and NIC. In order to do that, I have to somehow allocate memory in a physically contiguous order (e.g., clSVMAlloc(2MB) -> allocate physically contiguous memory of 2MB). I was trying to see how clSVMAlloc allocates memory but it seems that's closed source. I'm curious how clSVMAlloc actually allocates memory into physical memory space. Is it allocated contiguously? or is it allocated like normal malloc would do (map virtual address to multiple physical addresses)? If it's not contiguous, is there a way to make it contiguous? Any comment or advice will be a great help!

Thank you,

Younghwan

0 Likes
8 Replies
pinform
Staff

Hi Younghwan,

I have white-listed you, so you should be able to post in any of the AMD developer forums directly.

I am moving this post to the OpenCL forum, where you should receive helpful replies.

--Prasad

0 Likes

Thank you!

-Younghwan

0 Likes
nibal
Challenger

Hi,

I can't use ocl 2.0 to check for myself, but you can do it easily yourself. A few well placed printfs in your kernel, will tell you if the chunk is continuous or not. My guess is that it works like malloc - continuous for short segments, distributed for larger ones. Size is defined as your buffer over your total VRAM size.

HTH

Nikos

0 Likes

Hi Nikos,