cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics Cards

badexample1568
Journeyman III

To what card should I upgrade? (I'm hardware illiterate)

I currently have two AMD Radeon R9 200 / 7900 series cards running on crossfire. The cards are at least 8 years old. I thought the cards were keeping up with present day graphics just fine, until I started playing DCS World again after a break of a few years. Even with graphics settings turned all the way down my machine is struggling. I'm getting 8-22 FPS at best.

I'm looking to upgrade to a newer card, but I'm laughably hardware illiterate. I don't see myself getting into VR, but at some point in the not too distant future I'd like to upgrade my graphics to 1440 or MAYBE 4k, but mostly I just want graphics that will look presentable and still give me a good frame rate. (60 FPS is not a requirement for me.)

My concern is that I don't know how the crossfire cards compare together compare to more recent cards. If I'm going to spend money on an upgrade, I want to make sure I'm actually upgrading, not just getting a single card that isn't much better than the sum of the two that I'm currently running.

I'm willing to spend in the neighborhood of $400, possibly more.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.6GHz
Memory: 32768MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 32708MB RAM
Page File: 2670MB used, 34902MB available

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Motherboard
Card name: AMD Radeon R9 200 / HD 7900 Series (x2 Crossfire)
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Chip type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x6798)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Type: Full Device
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6798&SUBSYS_27701462&REV_00
Display Memory: 9939 MB
Dedicated Memory: 6099 MB
Shared Memory: 3840 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)

0 Likes
5 Replies
naz1911
Adept I