cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics Cards

SAPPHIRE REFERENCE 7900 XTX GPU JUNCTION 110C Problem and My Support Request

Hello, first of all I wish you a happy new year. I hope you will help me solve the problem I am having and I will start the new year happy. I've been using AMD products for about 20 years, my latest graphics card is the XFX 6800 XT Merc and I was very happy with it. I eagerly awaited the release of the 7900 series and on 28.12.2022 I purchased a SAPPHIRE 7900 XTX REFERENCE DESIGN (AMD MANUFACTURE) card with serial number 11W2249100730 and PN 21322-01-20G.

But I had a GPU JUNCTION 110C problem with my Sapphire Referance 7900 XTX graphics card.

After installing, I noticed that the GPU Junction temperature reached 110c, which is the GPU temperature limit, in a very short time during the game, and therefore the thermal protection came into play, reducing the GPU speed of 2500 mhz, which is the minimum boost speed that the card should work, to 2470 mhz.
In addition, due to this excess of heat, the fans work very loudly at full speed, and at the same time, a high amount of coil buzzing, which is called COIL WHINE, occurs.
Also, when I lay the case on its side and run the card in an upright position, the temperature drops from 110c to 95c, as you can appreciate, this is not a normal situation.

Later, when I researched the subject on the Internet, I read that some cards with a temperature problem of 110c exist on some different AMD reference design 7900XTXs, such as my card.

In addition, due to this excess of heat, the fans work very loudly at full speed, and at the same time, a high amount of coil buzzing, which is called COIL WHINE, occurs.

Also, when I lay the case on its side and run the card in an upright position, the temperature drops from 110c to 95c, as you can appreciate, this is not a normal situation.
And I can't use the card like this.