cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics Cards

tattoofreak
Adept I

Help: VRR (Variable Refresh Rate) not working

I'm totally new to the VRR (Variable Refresh Rate) topic so please have patience if I do not know everything about it. Before posting my question here I want to note that I've tried to read and learn as much as possible about VRR and despite of confusing readings it seems I learned also a couple oft things:

• There's a big difference between HDMI Forum VRR and FreeSync
  • VRR over HDMI is not handled the same way as VRR over DisplayPort
  • Windows and Linux do handle VRR differently, in a way that Windows does not support HDMI Forum VRR but only Freesync. For Linux it was said that the native kernel drivers do not support FreeSync but only HDMI Forum VRR, but, if this ever was true, has clearly changed according to this topic.
  • Linux supports HDMI Forum VRR from RX6000 series on but only in a HDMI 2.0 environment and not in a HDMI 2.1 environment.
  • On Linux, HDMI Forum VRR and FreeSync gets enabled by default from Linux kernel 5.18 on.

All that said I must say that most of the things I have read are about two years old so I'm wondering if over the years has changed anything and now I would like to post my question.

My main issue is the following:

I have the following hardware setup, all hardware is HDMI 2.1 capable:

• Linux HTPC x86_64 with AMD Radeon 6800XT graphics card and Linux kernel 5.18.19
  • LG OLED55GX9LA TV (which is HDMI Forum VRR and AMD FreeSync ready)

Unfortunately I am not able to make HDMI Forum VRR work. On the LG TV, according to this topic, I did set the following settings to make sure HDMI Forum VRR is enabled and AMD's native FreeSync is disabled:
AMD FreeSync --> Disabled
Instant Game Response --> Enabled