Rx 470 4 Gb

to the following:

Ryzen 7 2700X w/ wraith prism cooler

Asus ROG Strix B450-f Gaming Mobo

1Tb m.2

32 GB team elite 3200 Mhz RAM

thermaltake 700w PSU

RX 5500xt mech oc 8 Gb

Installed everything, reinstalled windows, updated everything. computer runs fine as a workstation/ desktop. when I try to play ANY game, GPU crashes. the only notable error message I have gotten is 

GPU Crashed or D3D Device Removed.

Use -d3ddebug to enable the D3D debug device.

Use -gpucrashdebugging to track current gpu state.

any other crashes the screens just freeze, audio stays on, computer stays on. I reboot and check event viewer and it doesnt show anything. I am rather new to GAMING computers so Im not sure whats going on with my GPUs. I have even tried putting the 470 in and it still does this. 

4 Replies
Paulymcnasty
Journeyman III

Have you tried using the amd cleaning utility?

0 Likes

I have not. the only reason I have not is that this card was installed before the first post of the new hardware so there was never any other drivers installed. I bought another case and rebuilt my old pc. works like a charm, both the 470 and the 5500 work flawlessly in that old machine. 

0 Likes

You might want to talk to the support department of the company that made your GPU. It is always possible you just got a bad card, or other component. They should be able to help your figure it out. Or if you bought it retail maybe just exchange the card and try another. 

0 Likes
ValKillMe
Journeyman III