cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics Cards

aanders50
Journeyman III

GPU keeps crashing while gaming, PC remains on.

Having trouble resolving an issue with my GPU constantly crashing while gaming. I had a R9 290x and in December, all my monitors randomly went dark while playing PUBG. It ended up being that it killed the GPU and it could no longer POST. For the next few weeks I was able to play very res games using my integrated graphics. I then received a brand new GPU as the 290x had a lifetime warranty, so I just got a new R9 390x a week ago. Same problem, instantly crashed out when I tried to join a PUBG lobby.

I started playing some less-intensive games like SMITE, Portal 2, LoL, etc.. and these actually did okay. SMITE crashed once, but usually I could game for several hours fine. I then tried Civ 6, which was good for an hour then crashed. By crash, all 3 monitors go dead but I still hear sound in my headphones.

Up till now I have had a stock cooler and thought maybe my CPU was overheating (was about 75-80C in SMITE, and 85-95C in Civ 6), installed the new cooler 2 days ago and got SMITE down to 65-68C, but the issue still occurs, and now it is occurring on SMITE often. I also have noticed that if I have remove my side case and stick a large fan nearby, this seems to help with some of the crashing, however, my GPU and CPU temps seem fine, if not lower, so I am not sure what else would/could be heating up?

My current setup is:

CPU: INTEL I7 4790K 4.0G 8M R

Intel Core i7-4790K Devil's Canyon Quad-Core 4.0 GHz LGA 1150 88W BX80646I74790K Desktop Processor I...

With brand new Corsair H75 cooler.

RAM: Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DD

G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Mode...

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-SLI

GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-SLI LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg.com

PSU: EVGA 850W 110-B2