cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics Cards

SENKOP
Journeyman III

AMD HD 5000 GPU freezing, cursor moves with 4 black dots on it.

Hello everyone

I have a problem with my Toshiba Satellite L655 laptop

It has been upgraded from Windows 7 to Windows 10

Every now and again, the screen will freeze.
What ever I am doing, watching YouTube, searching Google etc, The Screen will freeze, the cursor will move, but it has like 4 black dots in a sqare around it. And I cant click on anything, it will move, for 2 minutes or so, then the screen goes blank, (Black) and I have to power it down by pulling out the power cord.

I have read up on AMD Graphics cards and windows 10 and it keeps telling me about update the drivers

I have downloaded just about EVERY driver that AMD Has!!! . . . It still does it!!!

Anyone got any ideas ???

I am a newbie by the way !!!

Thanks

0 Likes
7 Replies
vialli100
Forerunner

Hi,

Is your laptop getting hot?

If it is and it has a fan for cooling it may need cleaning.

What I would do is, take it apart and clean the fan.

While it is in parts I would also take the cooler off the cpu and graphics to replace the thermal paste (or thermal pads)..

Having repaired a lot of Laptops in the past it sounds like overheating or the graphics chip is starting to give up..

Hope this helps..

AMD Ryzen 7 3700x, Asus Tuf Gaming RX 6700 XT, Asus TUF Gaming x570 Plus, 32gb G.Skill TZ neo 3600mhz, Samsung 980pro 1tb NVME, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1tb NVME, Lian Li Galahad AIO 240mm, Antec Titanium 1kw.
0 Likes

Hi

Thanks for the fast reply

I must admit, I thought of overheating.  I have a small desk fan by the side of me to keep it cool and the laptop is also raised to let air underneath it.

I will give that a go, and the paste for the CPU.

Well,   . . . . . .    as I typed the above, CPU the thing did it again . . .  and I have only just turned it on, so surely it does not get hot THAT quick ?????

Any ideas ?

0 Likes