cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

General Discussions

jambill123
Adept I

Old game

I have an hp ef2040tg laptop w/ ryzen 5 5500u and windows 11 home. I have Quake I and Quake II. Quake II works ok but Quake I doesn't even install. I get a message saying can't install it. I heard DOS Box may be an option as it may be a 32 bit issue. What can I do? I am only an expert beginner and an old school programmer from the past and lost my way somewhere.  H e LP?!!

3 Replies
johnnyenglish
Grandmaster

Do you have the original media disk? Is it from you are trying to install?

Well, if that's the case, then DOSBox should help you out. Steam also relies on DOSBox as well to run these old games if you buy from them.

The Englishman

This 2 y/o Reddit thread one User gives instructions on how to be able to install and play Quake in Windows 10: https://www.reddit.com/r/quake/comments/jksfix/how_do_i_install_quake_from_the_original_cds_on/

Screenshot 2023-02-04 100548.png

Here is another User on how to run Quake without having to install it: https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/boards/916373-pc/63417767

I know this is the pc board but figured I would post it here as well as the Quake 1 board as I searched the entire internet and not found a single viable explanation on how to pull this off WITH expansions. There are explanations for getting the Quake game to run on its own but not to run it with both expansions as well.

This won't install due to installers not working with windows 64 bit as they were built for windows 32 bit but this work around will have you up and running in no time at all.

Due to not being able to use the installer on windows 64 bit systems due to incompatibility you can really struggle to run it and the expansions as well.

Well after not being able to find out how to get the expansions working with out the installer I went to work on figuring it out.