cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

General Discussions

jackashwell
Journeyman III

New Ryzen build freezing randomly

So I don't quite know what the problem is here hence why I am posting here, but anyways here's the problem. So back in November, I built a new computer. Specs:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 3700x.

Mobo: Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite.

GPU: Sapphire RX 5700XT Nitro+.

RAM: Corsair Vengence RGB 16GB 3200MHz.

Cooler: H100i RGB Platinum.

Storage: 1TB m.2 adata xpg sx8200 pro + 2x2TB Seagate HDD @ 7200rpm.

Power supply: Corsair 650w.

Recently, my build has been randomly freezing causing my whole system to just stop working but audio will still play from my speakers. This can be easily solved with a restart and it goes back to normal. I have not overcloked my CPU or GPU either.

If anyone can help, that'll be great. If you need more info, just ask.

Thanks!

0 Likes
5 Replies
west
Adept II

Hello there!

I am no expert, but there might several reasons, that might be causing this.

You might firstly want to check your motherboard BIOS version on the Gigabyte website. Your best bet would be to contact the motherboard support, explain your problem and post your specs and then ask them which BIOS version would be the best for your system. In my experience the very latest BIOS might not be the best all the time. So, contact them and see what would they recommend you.

Then check your CPU and GPU drivers, or if you have any difficulties with that better contact their respective support team.

RAM might also be a problem. I had a freezing with my computer, after changing RAM and in my case it turned that my specific RAM model is not compatible with my system. So, for ram check your model with the motherboard and cpu website pages for supported ram. You should also check Corsair's page and see if your ram model is on their list of compatible ram with your system.