cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

General Discussions

pradeepisro49
Journeyman III

Environment for GPU Computing

Hey guys I am new to GPU Computing, I will be using AMD opteron processor and AMD firepro W8100 GPU. I am in a dilemma of whether choosing Windows Operating System or Ubuntu to do GPU computing? Tell me why should I choose it.

0 Likes
13 Replies
rebelyell
Exemplar

Re: Environment for GPU Computing

freebsd

0 Likes
pradeepisro49
Journeyman III

Thanks for the reply. But I have been using Ubuntu 16.04 for a while, but ran into driver issues causing it get stuck in a login loop. I got fed up with it and downgraded to 15.10.

Im thinking of moving to Windows 10 which has great driver support

0 Likes
whiskey-foxtrot
Forerunner

To add to rebelyell's response, it also depends on the scope of your project and your resources. You're working with an Opteron which is great to experiment with virtualization if you decided to go that route - this would give you both Windows/Linux or BSD as a base. I'm sure you've also looked into AMD's own open-source tools and libraries (http://developer.amd.com/tools-and-sdks/opencl-zone/ ) which work on both Windows and Linux  so again, it depends on your scope and what you're comfortable with. If you're just starting out, I'd recommend spending time with both environments to give them a fair evaluation.

Personally I'm waiting for EPYC/Vega to start a gradual migration away from my current Xeon/Tesla base servers.

rebelyell
Exemplar

yea , ive seen alot threads on login loop , i didnt read much but it can be fixed. i think it revolves around the grub version and or powerd.gz file . dont quote me but its fixable...

0 Likes
mr_unknown
Adept III

Hello pradeepisro49@gmail.com,