cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

TheLovermind
Journeyman III

Substance/Toolbag Baking: disappointed, tired, angry

As a 2D/3D professional, I never use my graphics workstations for games.
I had migrated to Amd Ryzen (5990X) some time ago, not that I was disappointed with Intel, but the price/performance ratio was an argument.
Very happy with the processor... I was tempted by the AMD GPU because I was planning to buy the Nvidia 4090 RTX (currently on RTX 2080 Ti)

As soon as the new card was installed (7900 XTX 24 go) I installed the nice adrenalin interface... and did some personal bench test (rendering on 3D soft and Davinci resolve studio...). So far, nothing abnormal, even if I note a problem of reading under Davinci (4k without effect) a first baking test on substance (last update) : the machine froze immediately after the calculation of 'ambient occlusion' during the baking process...

I tried the same thing on Toolbag : same thing, but on Marmoset, it's just after the Baking process that the machine stopped... however, on small 3D objects not very complex, the baking is very fast. Also, the display and rendering is fluid and does the job.

Everything else seems to work well: Zbrush, the rendering of textures (ambient occlusion in this case) goes well, the display is fast... a speed gain overall... except that, when we ask for a precise task (here the Baking of a rather complex texture)... it seems that the card (or the drivers) are not up to the task....

A strange fact, I tried a "stress test" from the interface, this one, set to 60 sec, put the GPU in stress only for a few seconds... then, (while there was still 40 seconds of test, the "stress" was non-existent, no resumption, no alert, just a "rest" mode in the metrics)

I also noticed, on the interface GPU Tweak of Asus (my motherboard is Asus ROG VIII Formula) that display gpu freq at 2990 mhz ! I've also uninstalled this app...