cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

tazling
Journeyman III

Sapphire 5700XT -- driver update -- black screen hangs

I recently upgraded my driver (hoping to fix a very intermittent crash in a SteamVR game).

To my dismay, upgrading the driver appears to have made matters worse:  my win10 machine now routinely fails to wake from sleep, and my game is crashing every 10-12 minutes instead of "every now and then randomly".  

Is the most recent (Feb 2021 I believe) driver known to be problematic, and if so, is there a stable version I can roll back to safely?

I'm pretty new to Windows, and not expert at GPU hacking, so I'm trying to be very careful.  I have heard that Trixx can cause problems, and since I don't need any of its features I'm happy to uninstall it if that's the collective wisdom.  I don't overclock.  It's a really vanilla installation.  It used to be rock solid (other than the very intermittent SteamVR game crash) and now it's seriously impaired.

Hints, clues, etc. very welcome.

0 Likes
1 Solution

@tazling hello again and cheers - I see you had a first look at some of the settings.
Thanks for pointing out a few things you have selected and/or not touched at all.

No worries about being "clueless", this whole problematic is different for each graphics card generation.
We all need to figure out this stuff again, whenever a new card is released. Things change all the time.
With AMD the trend seems to be: "it may work, or you have to make it work yourself (or with help)" ^^

---

Some info for you regarding Radeon Software, its features and the way it handles overclocking:
- Radeon Software itself is enabling the enduser (= yourself) to change graphic card behavior 
- the software enables you to change certain settings within the driver to fine tune your card
- these changes are mostly limited to "safe working conditions": so you can't damage your card with it