cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

Ryzen 7 3800X not detecting M.2 disks

I am running an MSI X370 Gaming Plus Motherboard with an MSI RX 580 GPU and 32 GB of DDR4 RAM. My boot SSD is a WD SN850.

I have been using a Ryzen 7 1700X for the past 5 years without any issue. I just bought a used 3800X to be able to run Windows 11, but it refuses to detect any SSD in the M.2 slot. This isn't a Windows issue; the UEFI says that the slot is empty.

I have updated the MB FW to the latest version. I have tested the SSD on other machines and can confirm it is working. I am even able to boot from it with the 3800X when I put it in a USB-C enclosure. Other M.2 disks are not detected either. Reverting to the 1700X makes them show up correctly. All SATA drives and other devices and peripherals are detected correctly.

I have tried resetting the UEFI to default settings, changing the PCI gen compatibility, and tweaking a few other settings, but nothing works. The only option I see now is to clone it onto a Crucial SATA SSD I have lying around, but I don't want to do that since that is not as fast as an NVME M.2 disk and it would significantly slow down my workflow.

Any help would be appreciated.

1 Solution

Well, I managed to find a workaround for the issue, even though I haven't been able to solve it. I'll leave this here in case anyone runs into the same problems.

I got a PCI Express adapter for the M.2 SSD ($15 on Amazon) and plugged it into one of the free slots. It was detected correctly, and Windows started booting. But it crashed repeatedly with a BSOD error 0xc000021a. I looked it up, but it doesn't point to any particular issue. However, I managed to boot by going into advanced boot options and disabling driver verification. This gave me a clue about the issue.