cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

Remilia
Adept I

RX 7900 XTX Disappointing Driver Crashes

A few days ago I recieved my new RX 7900 XTX (Reference model) and after installtaion of the new drivers and removal of the old drivers it kept stuttering and frequently crashing.

Since then I bought new ram (32GB Corsair Vengance 3200Mhz), checked the card for the known junktion temp problem (delta seems fine with peak 11c difference) and even formated and reinstalled everything on my system.

I also updated BIOS drivers and chipset drivers, tried to undervolt the card and even swap out PSUs for another (750 Watt Corsair 80+ Gold).

Nothing fixed this anoying crashing and it also happens really often like every 3 minutes.

Since im new to AMD cards I wanted to hear the opinion of some AMD veterans on if this is a standard release procedure. Unstable drivers and insanely bad compatibility?

My current specs:
Ram: 32 GB Corsair Vengeance 3200 Mhz
CPU: Ryzen 5 2600X
GPU: RX 7900 XTX 24GB Ref. edition
Motherboard: B350M VD Pro
PSU: Corsair RM750x

0 Likes
1 Solution
MrLeftCoast
Adept II

Try two things...

re-seat your GPU

if using ram XMP profile in bios, disable it and set your ram to its lowest speed. try gaming with ram set to lowest speed.

View solution in original post

8 Replies
MADZyren
Paragon

2600 and B350 with 7900XTX sounds sketchy to be honest.

3200MHz with Ryzen 2600 would not necessarily work.

To actually get rid of old drivers, machine needs to be in safe mode for DDU to work.

0 Likes

Im planning on buying a R9 5900X for 350 Euro in a few days and have only tested the card with my currently available hardware.

I didnt expect to get great results but for it to be crashing my entire pc in Half life Alyx when im just looking around is kind of not normal.