Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

marcobadici
Journeyman III

R9 290 causing system shut down

Hello everyone,

I have been directed to ask this question here and any help is highly appreciated. I have an older system that still does its job, especially since I am a student and don't want to invest too much into gaming and components. The system has an R9 290 4Gb (GV-R929D5-4GD-B) which has been causing me some issues since day one. Drivers install, everything works, but when gaming, the system will shut down. Of course, first thought was PSU issues. I have since tried three different PSUs (Gigabyte G750H 80+ Gold, LCPower Arkangel 3 850W 80+ Gold and now a Corsair RM850 80+ Gold), all to the same effect. Then my second though was cooling, as the reference cooler was letting the card go all the way up to almost 100 degrees, so I found an R9 290 tri-x cooler and installed it, now temperatures are around 60 to 70, but still shutting down.

Although recently, after discovering this forum, there has been a small improvement. I have found a bios posted by someone (really sorry for not remembering the username), which after was installed, I was actually able to play Warzone for about a week without problems!! I thought the issues were over. I have attached the bios here. But yesterday and today, after playing for about half an hour, the system shut down again. I may just be stubborn, but I don't want to give up on this card as I love AMD and getting this card was like a dream since it launched. 

Because the card worked very well for this period of time, it leads me to believe that voltages are the issue? I am sadly not that experienced. But I am absolutely willing to lower the performance of the card by a somewhat large proportion just as long as I'd be able to use it and not have to buy another one. So if anyone would be able to help in dealing with this, that would mean the world to me.