cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

hitbm47
Forerunner

Proof AMD is either deliberately hogging pre-Navi performance or very negligent.

Hi community, my system:

Windows 10 64-bit latest build,
i7 870 (OC'ed to 3.9Ghz stable),
16GB DDR3 RAM (Clocked at 1866Mhz),
MSI Radeon RX 480 Gaming X 8G,

I am providing screenshot proof that AMD is still performing absolutely unacceptable on the Polaris/Vega kernal in Unreal Engine 3 (DirectX9 version) games, but it seems the lost optimization has been reintegrated into the Navi kernal and optimizations, when I have been reporting the issue since 2017.

Furthermore, I have been noticing my GPU is hitting 100% in some game titles with 70-80watts, whereas in the past it has only ever hit 100% utilization at 110-125watts and this is impacting game performance by 15-20FPS (in games such as Kane & Lync 2, WRC9, Alien Rage, GTAV, etc.). To continue, this is even with great temperatures in my system (RX 480 staying below 76C at 1303Mhz which is the MSI default clockspeed).

I am not going to name the author of the drivers, but out of my frustration of AMD not fixing or lack of attention to five-year long driver issues, I decided to give the Digitally signed modded drivers a try and herewith follows the screenshots at 1440p:

Screenshot of Polaris/Vega kernal dipping to 50FPS-30FPS or lower (depending on CPU OC) since 17.7.2 - 22.5.2:

AMD_Polaris_kernal_hogging_1_unreal_engine_3.jpg

Screenshot of Navi kernal over Polaris/Vega providing expected performance as it used to in 17.7.1 or earlier at 70FPS or more:

AMD_Polaris_kernal_hogging_2_unreal_engine_3.jpg