Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

kaxxi
Adept I

My computer freezes every few seconds

Hello,

I am new to pc building and built my first pc the other day. The first day I installed windows and everything was working fine, I downloaded the gpu driver and it was working fine the same night, but, the next morning, when I went on, there were microstutters (the screeen would skip frames, the audio would become static) and I didn't know what to do. I downloaded the latest GPU drivers and did some more troubleshooting, after that didn't work, I decided to factory reset the pc as I didn't have much data on it anyways. When I reinstalled windows, the problem persist. I have now installed the latest GPU and chipset drivers and the problem still occurs. Sometimes the problem happens where it microstutters every few seconds, and other times it's fine and works normally. I hope someone can help me solve this issue.

I also included screenshots of openhardwaremonitor when the problem happens.

Here are my specifications:

AMD Ryzen 9 3900X

Cooler Master MasterLiquid ML240R RGB

Asus ROG STRIX B450-F GAMING

Corsair Vengeance LPX Black DDR4 2 x 8 GB 2666 MHz CAS 16

ASRock Radeon RX 5700 XT Phantom Gaming D 8G OC

Samsung 860 QVO - 1 TB

Seagate BarraCuda - 1 TB - 64 MB

And my monitor if that matters: Iiyama G-MASTER GB2760QSU-B1

0 Likes
1 Solution
kaxxi
Adept I

Hey guys thanks for the help.

I figured out the issue, I'm not sure why but my display port cable connecting my gpu to my monitor was damaged, I switched it out for HDMI and the problem seems to have resolved itself, I am still confused though, why was the audio was being distorted.

Anyways, I'll take your advice for the motherboard hardcoregames™‌ , I'll try and upgrade it and maybe it will run better as well. Thanks

View solution in original post

6 Replies

If the machine is freezing, can always overclock it to warm it up.