cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

k427262
Adept I

Lost Audio after adding new RX 570 to 3400G Build

Hello. My pc was working fine prior to adding a brand new AMD GPU (Radeon RX 570). 
Since adding it, I have completely lost audio over HDMI. Old setup (works great): MSI Motherboard Ryzen 5 3400G CPU Samsung TV, plugged into motherboard HDMI port. New setup (no audio, everything else fine): MSI Motherboard Ryzen 5 3400G CPU Radeon Rx 570 GPU Samsung TV, plugged into GPU HDMI Port In the windows sound options, I have no available sound device (everything says "not plugged in").
I have installed AMD Adrenaline without issue - I think this should have handled the GPU drivers.
It almost seems like a conflict between the AMD GPU and AMD APU? I've attached several pictures to show my system. Please let me know if you need any more info.
I'm a software engineer and am technically savvy. Thanks in advance.
5 Replies
k427262
Adept I

Adding to this with the results of additional troubleshooting:

- the “AMD Audio Driver Version” is listed as “Not Available” in the AMD Radeon Software console.

- Unplugging my gpu’s power, and running the hdmi to the motherboard sees the sound return without issue after a driver refresh/rescan. 
- Yes I DDU’d, no change.

- I disabled the integrated graphics and the onboard audio in the BIOS, then tried reinstalling all of the GPU drivers - no change.

- I have open tickets with XFX and AMD. XFX’s response was basic troubleshooting, AMD hasn’t responded yet.

Pretty frustrating. I see tons of very similar threads online that all seem to involve an AMD APU, and AMD Rx 5xx GPU, and an MSI motherboard. There really haven’t been any solutions other than people selling/scrapping their APU and getting a dedicated CPU.

sharp14
Adept I