cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

BananaSplit1209
Journeyman III

I think I have a big problem (DRIVER 22.8.2)

Specs & Info

• AMD Radeon RX 6700XT, Chip Type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x73DF)
  • AMD Ryzen 5 2600 Six-Core (12CPUs), ~3,4GHz
  • OP System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
  • 16384MB RAM (MEMORY)

Hope this information suffices ^

Just for context, I'm fairly new to PC Gaming.

So what my problem is, is that I can't update my drivers to 22.8.2, the latest driver update, and I think that is causing a lot of issues. Now as to why I can't update, I will explain. I noticed there were new drivers available in July, I think that even was 22.7.1, so I just updated my drivers like I always did (never had problems before) so just figured it would be fine.

All of a sudden after the update, whenever doing something like opening Google Chrome, Youtube videos, opening steam, my display would lag very bad. My mouse was lagging all over the screen and sometimes the display even blacked out for a bit. So naturally after some more trials with this new update I started looking for fixes. So apparently, there just isn't a fix just a solution that gives you other problems, like reverting to older updates. 

So I believe I reverted back to 22.6.1, or at least the one I was using before, so everything was working fine again. So it definitely had to do with this new driver update. Lately I was able to do everything normally again, except for when I got this game The Quarry. I started having crashes. So naturally I looked into what could be causing this, the game is pretty taxing, and I was running it on high settings, so I just set everything on lower settings and expected the problem to disappear, but it didn't. Crashes kept happening, and not "regular crashes" but AMD crashes. Where the bug report tool that I don't even know where to start with comes up.