Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

Highlighted
Adept I
Adept I

HD7970 not working after 17.4.3 update

Hello, my video card is no longer working after updating to 17.4.3 version of Catalyst driver suite.

Here are the specifics of my system:

• AMD Graphics Card
    • 3072MB ATI AMD HD 7970 Series (Gigabyte)
  • OS
    • Windows 7 64bit
  • Desktop
  • Driver version installed:
    • Radeon Crimson ReLive 17.4.3
  • Display Devices:
    • HP 2010 (1600x900@60Hz) connected directly to video card (DVI-I)
  • Motherboard
    • Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. Z77X-UD5H
  • CPU
    • Intel Core i5-3570K
  • Power Supply Unit  Make, Model & Wattage
    • Seasonic 650W Gold
  • RAM
    • 8GB

I've been using this video card for about 4 years now and didn't have any issues with it until this update. After this update, the card is detected (by Radeon Settings, Windows System Information and Speccy) but any games I launch give me error messages along the line of "Failed to initialize graphics device" or "Unable to initialize video card".

So far I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers with clean uninstall. Did this multiple times in regular and safe mode, used additional software to clean up the system before reinstalling (by using amd clean uninstall utility and DDU). I've verified my system in DirectX and used sfc /scannow to make sure.  I've disabled integrated graphics in BIOS and it is clearly not dead, but just unable to be used by games. Out of ideas what else I can try, please advise.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
44 Replies
Highlighted
Adept II
Adept II

Re: HD7970 not working after 17.4.3 update

Revert back to 17.3.x. I have exactly the same problem as yours.

Link to my thread -> Windows 10 Creators Update/R9 390/17.4.x troubles.

Highlighted
Adept I
Adept I

Thank you for mentioning 17.3.x version of the drivers.