Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

silverspoonofjustice
Journeyman III

Graphics Drivers Don't Match What Is In My PC

TL;DR

I purchased a laptop a couple years ago supposedly including an AMD Radeon R9 M290X but the AMD Radeon HD 8970M drivers work better. Theoretically, the R9 M290X is a slightly better card (according to sites like gpuboss) and I was wondering if I got an incorrect card in my PC, or if there is something going on in the background that I don't understand that is causing the M290X drivers not to work.

My specs and everything will be listed below my wall of text.

Hello, a couple of years ago, I purchased an Alienware 17 laptop. A year went by without many issues (as I was only playing games that didn't require to much in terms of GPU power). As I started playing games that required a more powerful system, I started noticing stuttering fps, and issues with world loading (mainly in games like Grand Theft Auto 5). At the time I also had the Raptr application installed on my computer. When I compared my system specs with Device Manager, it was clear that there was an issue with driver detection. In Raptr, it was stated that I had an AMD Radeon HD 8970M graphics card while it was an AMD Radeon R9 M290X in Device Manager (which is also the name of the card stated on the bottom of my laptop). I managed to download the drivers that were for the 8970M and the games I was playing on ran smoother than before, but the drivers would sometimes just revert back to the old M290X drivers. Looking at some different sites, it looks like the M290X, while only a little bit, is theoretically faster than the 8970M in terms of gaming ability. I don't know a whole lot about the technical stuff behind drivers and everything like that but I was curious if there was a way to maybe get a concrete answer on which card is in my pc.