Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

Highlighted
Journeyman III
Journeyman III

Re: gcc segmentation faults on Ryzen / Linux

This sounds interesting. Could you repeat your tests while underclocking your CPU (if there is such an option in your BIOS)?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adept III
Adept III

ryzennewbie wrote:

I've created and uploaded the USB image to:

https://ufile.io/h1r14

Thanks for providing this. I have no experience with *BSD, so I downloaded this and I'm running it at the moment.

ryzen_provoke_freeze just reboots the machine when it gets to 0x...40, same as everyone elses.

This might be an interesting data point though :

I've been running ryzen_stress_test now for over 11 hours and not had a failure. A looping kernel compile in linux will fail at least once an hour on the same box.

I'll let it run for another day or so and see if it breaks.

Highlighted
Adept II
Adept II

Thank you very much for trying out that image.

That freeze during "ryzen_provoke_freeze.sh" is expected - that script pins the program "ryzen_provoke_freeze" to core 0 which seems to be mainly responsible for interrupt managing and therefore "dies" at first. If you run the program "ryzen_provoke_freeze" directly, so that it rotates through all cores, you can be lucky and it will run through. But this behaviour is now circumvented by increasing the "safe zone" towards the top of the memory - see [base] Revision 321899

Getting failures during "ryzen_stress_test" is a hard one, I know - for the FreeBSD devs as well; at the moment, I cannot reproduce that myself after running for 24h. Furthermore, you won't get any segfaults there only "unable to rename" errors, where some object files suddenly disappear. It's still not clear what causes this.

I had good results with compiling "ghc" from the ports tree; first eight failures, then successes; as it needs a warming-up time to succeed: