cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

DiscordGoat
Journeyman III

Frequent horrific display driver failures

So ever since I built my pc, I have been experiencing frequent, and sudden display driver failures. I'm no expert on computer bugs, but I am studying computer science and have been my family's tech support for ages and even did some work on cyber security for a summer, and this one really stumps me.

So let's address the problem;

Reconstruction is easy. I just need to turn on my computer, and launch a game. Other things can trigger the problem, such as opening the system tab in Event Viewer (inconsistent) or using too much memory (inconsistent) usually through a web browser.

What's the problem? Well, when my display driver crashes, I am met with two black screens (double monitor setup) and a whole bunch of frustration. Audio fails about 40% of the time, and It's obvious I'm still uploading and downloading as I've had the problem while in a call with my friends and could still hear and speak to them. Sometimes, however, my whole pc freezes with the failure and I need to restart. Input from keyboard and mouse are ignored by the system.

Details? Well, I can have it randomly, or when launching a game, or after a game has been launched for a while.

What have I done to try and fix it? You better sit down for this. I'll try to go in the order of what I tried.

1: Restarting (couldnt do much else, as the display driver failed and couldnt recover) 

Result: No change

2: Updating windows

Result: No change

3: Updating all drivers including display adapter

Result: Inconsistencies. Sometimes games would last a few minutes without crashing, sometimes I would gsod or bsod or just plain freeze/crash. I also started getting memory problems yet my memory is 32 GB

4: Reinstalling Display drivers

Result: Increased Volatility 

5: Re-seating the GPU 

Result: None