cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

joecrow
Elite

BSOD during 20.11.2 and 20.12.1 install RX5500XT

Win 10 x64 20H2, Gigabyte X570 UD mobo, Assus RX5500XT graphics card. CPU AMD Ryzen 5 3600XT 3.8 GHz.

I have been runing this PC for 2 months using the 20.9.1 drivers without problem but when I attempted to update (after uninstalling in safe mode with DDU) to 20.12.1 during the installation (at 95%+ Audio Driver section) the system crashed with a WHEA "Uncorrectable Error" BSOD, restart failed and it went into repair mode and eventually rebooted but Radeon Settings would not open, I re-installed 20.9.1 without problem but on shutting the PC down it displayed the BSOD screen again with a permanent 0% and then restarted, the only way to shutdown was using the power switch. I restored the system from backup which fixed the shutdown problem and then uninstalled 20.9.1 with DDU and then re-installed 20.9.1  with absolutely no problem, tried the same with 20.11.2 and again got the WHEA BSOD and repair on restart problem etc, same as with 20.12.1. Also tried just updating without using DDU to uninstall 20.9.1 but same results. Also needed to restore from backup or restore point to get back a working system.

Hoping someone here knows what is going on and how to fix it?

0 Likes
1 Solution

I finally got the replacement mobo the Assus TUF x570 Gaming Plus, it came with bios 1407 installed which supports the CPU so have not updated it. The XMP profile 1 option correctly identified the DRAM speed and timings (3200) 16 18 18 35 1.35V in my case so left it at that and all is working well. I use a CPU fan with RGB which looks good with the Assus much more colourful than the Gigabyte mobo so no plans to turn it off although Aura utility which allows me to change the colour and speed etc adds little or nothing to the default mode.