Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Devgurus Discussion

Zenja
Journeyman III

Embedded AMD hardware and alternative Operating Systems

Hi everyone.  

I'm a software architect for an embedded system (mostly graphics related/Vulkan), and I've chosen Team Red for all our hardware platforms (embedded AMD, from the original Fusion API, Southern Islands,  to the latest Ryzen V1000 series Ryzen/Vega 8).  The developer workstations and laptops I've chosed for my team are always team Red.  The workstations from last year are Zen2, with Navi GPU.  The latest laptop I got for my team are all HP Omen 16 Advantage Editions (5800H and RX6600M).  We're team red to the core.

Until now, all our embedded software was 100% Linux.  Thank you AMD for supporting open source communities, and for publishing GPU specifications for all your hardware.  Our Vulkan renderer under Linux would not have the performance / stability if it were not for the AMDGPU and RADV Vulkan drivers.

We've been keeping an eye out for Haiku OS as a potential replacement for Linux, and recently there has been a Haiku developer who has managed to create a Radeon GPU driver for Haiku, and is working on porting Vulkan lavapipe driver to Haiku.  He's having a fair bit of success, and his work has encouraged many to consider team RED for their next hardware purchases.  Once the Haiku driver is completed, every Haiku user will naturally migrate towards AMD solutions since it will have proper hardware support.

However, the developer is not receiving any support from AMD at all.  He is doing all development in his own free time.  He is reverse engineering the Linux drivers, and can only test on his personal hardware (a really old HD7000 GPU).  X512 (the developer) has even ported Haiku to the Risc-V SiFi embedded hardware.