cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

divya88mehra
Journeyman III

where to start the development of graphics driver????...

i'm newbie in this domain. i need some guideline to developing(implementing) a driver of my own. so, where to start my work??..

Can anyone help me out???

0 Likes
4 Replies
avk
Adept III

Your own driver?! Well, such a job is a very hard and long one. Anyway, what OS you plan to support?

0 Likes
extremeseos0007
Journeyman III

Hello to everyone at this forum.....I am really new at this and wish a good time to spend discussing

0 Likes
bridgman
Staff

Probably the best place to start is by looking at some existing drivers. Not sure which GPU you are considering, but if you browse to http://cgit.freedesktop.org there are some projects there which could be good examples :

mesa/drm - kernel driver for all generations of ATI GPU

mesa/mesa - 3D driver for all generations up to 5xx, look in 6xx-rewrite branch for 6xx-7xx

xorg/driver/xf86-video-ati - display/2D driver for all generations of Radeon GPU

xorg/driver/xf86-video-radeonhd - display/2D driver for 5xx and higher

Programming guides are available on amd.com (look for "Open GPU Documentation") or at http://www.x.org/docs/AMD

0 Likes

Hi,