cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

yngvesl
Journeyman III

Vectorization of exp and pow for CPUs (App SDK)

Hi.

I am comparing App SDK/OpenCL and OpenMP at the time being. The app I'm studying spends most of its time doing exps and pows. With icpc (Intel C++ compiler) and OpenMP, all of these functions are translated into their vectorized equivalents (svml). But by the benchmark results (OpenCL version takes roughly 2x the time), these functions aren't translated to vectorized editions by the OpenCL compiler. Is there any way to achieve this? My experiments have been on Intel processors for now, would it make a difference if I tried on AMD  CPUs?

Note that I am using the vector features in App SDK for the code in general, and I've seen that e.g. addition examples achieves a 2x speedup. However, this does not help much when maybe 40-50% of the time is spent doing exps and pows.

If this is not possible, I think it is a huge limitation of the App SDK. One could argue with the portability feature, but you often need to write different kernels for different devices anyways, and then I could just cook up some OpenMP code that does the same thing under some abstraction.

Best regards,

Yngve Sneen Lindal

0 Likes
8 Replies
himanshu_gautam
Grandmaster

yngyse,

AMD APP SDK is capable of translating instructions in vectorized form. In  some cases when it is hard to determine vectorizeable parts Loop unrolling can be used to make code vectorizeable.

0 Likes

Yes, I know that it's capable of that. And yes, unrolling is possible. I don't have a loop in my kernel (and no branches) but I would assume that using the double2 data type with an exp function should make use of a vectorized edition of the exp function? See the attached code. As for now, it does not.

double2 x = vload2(offset, data); double2 result = exp(-0.5*pow((x-mu)/sigma,2.0)); vstore2(result, i, results);

0 Likes