Showing results forΒ 
Search instead forΒ 
Did you mean:Β 

Archives Discussions

sharky
Journeyman III

SB700 register documentation?

Hi,

sorry if this is not the appropriate forum. Feel free to redirect me elsewhere.

I'm a coreboot developer (free x86(-64) BIOS replacement) and the availability of public documentation on the SB600 and the RS690 has helped improve and maintain the 690/SB600 code in coreboot. We coreboot developers maintain a list of public AMD processor/chipset programming documentation here: http://www.coreboot.org/AMD_Public_Documents

Thanks for these docs!

Unfortunately, mainboards with 690/SB600 chipset are increasingly hard to get, so I'm investigating how much effort it would be to update the SB600 code in coreboot to support SB700/SB710/SB750.

Is there a release of the following docs planned (I don't know the exact names)? <edit>Creative googling turned up some document numbers</edit>

• AMD SB700 RRG (Register Reference Guide) #43009
  • AMD SB700 RPR (Register Programming Requirements) #42413
  • AMD SB700 BDG (BIOS Developer's Guide) #43366

Same question applies to RX780/RD780 (#43291, #43451, #43734), but I don't want to overwhelm you with requests. πŸ˜‰

There are quite a few coreboot developers (including me) standing by waiting for docs to immediately support popular desktop/server mainboards.

Thanks for any info on the topic.

Regards,

sharky

Tags (1)
0 Likes
23 Replies
avk
Adept III

I hope that those documents sooner or later will appear on AMD site, when somebody at AMD will wake up after the winter hibernation .

Hey AMD, wake up! It's been long time ago (one year!) when those chipsets were released and still there is no open information about them!

0 Likes
stroia
Staff
Staff