Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

xenoargh
Journeyman III

QUIT BREAKING OPENGL.

Seriously.

<FLAME MODE: ON>

Dear AMD, I am an indie-game developer, who has had a long time association with some prominant projects that use OpenGL. 

I also use a lot of OpenGL-based software as part of my content workflow.

I'd heard all the horror stories from my fellow developers about OpenGL problems with AMD/ATi GPUs, and I'd had to spend considerable time debugging GLSL routines to meet your much-more-finicky engineering requirements (I can show you 20+ examples of one piece of GLSL that compiled and operated on nVidia's hardware / driver platform, but failed to operate, if you want to see some embarassing proof).

I've registered here soley to FLAME you folks, and hopefully stir up some serious action. 

I have never had to deal with this level of sheer hassle before, and I'm never going to buy one of your GPUs again for a dev-box.

I just 'upgraded' your Catalyst drivers from 10.3 to 10.6, hoping that would mean I saw the dreaded "VPU Recover" feature come up less frequently with several OpenGL-based tools I am using.

Instead, due to your wonderful QA, it broke UVMapper Pro in XP Pro 32bit, whose code has probably been essentially stable for years and surely isn't using any modern extensions (uvmapper.com  if you wish to see Catalyst 10.6 and this app, although I honestly suggest you contact Steve Cox about it to see if he'll show you the source), to the point it couldn't even operateIt crashed on startup. 

Now, if I was a normal user, I'd probably be SOL, because I might not even know I could roll back the drivers.  And if I was a normal user, I'd maybe assume that it was the application's fault.  I'm a developer, though, so I know that's *****.  It's your driver engineering team's lack of proper QA and apparent indifference about OpenGL that's at fault.