Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

lenjyco
Journeyman III

Profiling time for blocking and non-blocking execution

Hi all,

I'm new to OpenCL dev and i want to understand some mechanics.

I've a simple matrix multiplication kernel, and i want to see the impact of the blocking option for the clEnqueue* instructions.

So, i compute one time with blocking write&read and the other non blocking.

When I look to the profiling times of execution, I've, for the blocking version, a sequential order for each time (enqueue, submit, kernel start, kernel end) but in non blocking i got the execution of the kernel before that it's submitted and queued.

Can someone explain me this behaviour, thank you very much.

0 Likes
9 Replies
nou
Exemplar

blocking call is equivalent of clFinish() after that call so it finish executing before return. unless you have out of order queue (which is not supported) you will always see execution in order.

0 Likes
himanshu_gautam
Grandmaster

lenjyco wrote:

kernel end) but in non blocking i got the execution of the kernel before that it's submitted and queued.

Can someone explain me this behaviour, thank you very much.

Getting a negative number for (END-START) is certainly strange. You can submit a test case for that.

also you should notice that non-blocking call returns in very less time(just after queueing your command), as the execution will be started at some later time. This should in general result in very high submit time (submit-queued), other times should be more or less comparable.

0 Likes
lenjyco
Journeyman III

Hey,

thanks for the response,

@nou : i'm using IN-ORDER queue right now, i will test OUT-OF-ORDER after.

@himanshu.gautam : I think you misunderstood me, it's not the difference between END-START that is ne...

For example, i get the 4 differents time (Queueing, submiting, sarting and ending) in my non-blocking version and i get from my output :

- Queue = 27095955722029