Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

ankhster
Adept II

Problem writing to write buffer from within kernel

Hi

I'm fairly new to OpenCL and I'm having a great deal of trouble trying to copy data (6 times int8 vectors) from the device to the host. I've set all the important bits that I can identify with, as described below. This is running with the following:

Windows 7 x64

Visual Studio 2008

AMD Catalyst 12.8

SDK 2.7.923.1

Tahiti 7970.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Host:

cl_mem    inDevice, outDevice;

cl_int    err;

size_t    global;

global = 1;

vecPart = 0;

inDevice = clCreateBuffer(context, CL_MEM_READ_ONLY, sizeof(cl_int), NULL, NULL);

outDevice = clCreateBuffer(context, CL_MEM_WRITE_ONLY, sizeof(cl_int8) * global * 6, NULL, NULL);

err  = clSetKernelArg(kernel, 0, sizeof(cl_mem), &inDevice);

err |= clSetKernelArg(kernel, 1, sizeof(cl_mem), &outDevice);

err = clEnqueueWriteBuffer(commands, inDevice, CL_TRUE, 0, sizeof(int), &vecPart, 0, NULL, NULL);

err = clEnqueueNDRangeKernel(commands, kernel, 1, NULL, &global, NULL, 0, NULL, NULL);

Device:

__kernel void myproc(__global int *position, __global int *outBuffer)

{

int8    tallyL = 0;

int8    tallyLO = 0;

int8    tallyLOS = 0;

int8    tallyLM = 0;

int8    tallyLMO = 0;

int8    tallyLMOS = 0;

id = get_global_id(0);

id *= 6;

vstore8(tallyL, id, outBuffer);        // Device stops responding but recovers

vstore8(tallyLO, id + 1, outBuffer);

vstore8(tallyLOS, id + 2, outBuffer);

vstore8(tallyLM, id + 3, outBuffer);

vstore8(tallyLMO, id + 4, outBuffer);

vstore8(tallyLMOS, id + 5, outBuffer);

}

I then commented the vstore commands and the kernel completed without any problems, albeit I didn't get any results.

id = get_global_id(0);

id *= 6;

//    vstore8(tallyL, id, outBuffer);        // Uncomment and device stops responding but recovers

//    vstore8(tallyLO, id + 1, outBuffer);

//    vstore8(tallyLOS, id + 2, outBuffer);