Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

stenr
Journeyman III

Problem with hitting breakpoints

Hi,

I am a newbie on codexl, but I think I have got it to work. Looks promising. My only problem so far, seems related to hitting breakpoints in my .cl files. This means I can successfully add breakpoints at cl-functions, such as clEnqueueNDRangeKernel, using the breakpoints view. Then I can step into my kernel code using F11. I would like to be able to add breakpoints in my .cl code, in order to avoid stepping through for-loops in the kernel code. If I shift+F11 inside a for-loop in the .cl file, I come "on the other side" of the clEnqueueNDRangeKernel breakpoint. Should I add some project settings somewhere, or are there any limitations on the .cl-files or how they are built, in order to get them working in codeXL? The .cl files are added to the VS project.

Btw. .cl breakpoints work in the teapot sample.

I use CodeXL 1.3, OpenCL 1.2, VS2012 and AMD FirePro W7000.

Best Regards,

StenR

0 Likes
6 Replies

Hi StenR,

CodeXL is supposed to identify the .cl files from the solution, if the source code passed to clCreateProgramWithSource is exactly the same.

However, some situations (passing the string through a utility class that normalizes line endings, concatenating several strings, using sprintf to change the source, etc.) can cause the string passed to clCreateProgramWithSource to vary a little bit.

You were on the right track, but didn't quite get there, here's what you should do:

1. Set a breakpoint on the kernel function name, or set a breakpoint on clEnqueueNDRangeKernel and use F11 to go into kernel debugging.

2. Once the kernel is dispatched, CodeXL will open a Visual Studio source window for the kernel source. It will either be the file from your solution or a temporary file (named <application name>-OpenCLContextX-CLProgramYYY.cl) if the match was not exact.