Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

arvin99
Adept II

pinned buffer OpenCL vs CUDA

Hi,

I am new with OpenCL so maybe it is a stupid question.

I already know how to use pinned buffer, zero copy buffer, or device buffer in OpenCL.

I have a question that really make me confuse:

What is the different between using pinned host memory in OpenCL and pinned host memory in CUDA ??

After I do some research, I found that using pinned host memory in CUDA means you create data with cudaMalllocHost (location: pinned host memory) and send the data to the buffer on device (location: device memory).

It is explained at this link :http://devblogs.nvidia.com/parallelforall/how-optimize-data-transfers-cuda-cc/  and inside several CUDA books.

But, in OpenCL using pinned host memory means you create data with malloc (location: host memory) and send the data to the buffer on pinned host memory (location: pinned host memory).

Am I right?? 

And, if I create data with malloc in OpenCL, it must be moved from pageable memory to pinned memory and after that the transfer begin from pinned memory to buffer in pinned host memory is n't it??

This is according to image from link  :http://devblogs.nvidia.com/parallelforall/how-optimize-data-transfers-cuda-cc/:

pinned-1024x541

Message was edited by: Arvin Arvin

0 Likes
1 Solution

Thank Nou,

Just to make sure.

According to table 4.2 in AMD APP Accelerated Parallel Programming Guide, several research, and from your explanation :

There are  three method of transfer in OpenCL:

1. Standard way (pageable memory ->pinned memory->device memory)

1.1 It is achieve by create data in host memory using malloc and  buffer in device memory by using DEFAULT flag (none of the following flag).

Before the data is transferred then  data in host memory (pageable) must be moved to temporary pinned memory and after that the data can be send to device memory.