cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

Arakageeta
Journeyman III

Opteron 8-GPU systems?

Do Opteron systems w/ 8 double-wide GPUs exist?

I'm a grad student looking to purchase a many-GPU system for our research lap.  I'd like to maximize both CPU core and GPU count.  The best I can find that maximizes both of these is a Tyan Intel-based system (http://www.tyan.com/product_SKU_spec.aspx?ProductType=BB&pid=412&SKU=600000188), which supports 12 CPU cores and 8 double-wide GPUs.  Is there any sort of equivalent (or better) in the AMD world?  The best I can find is a SuperMicro system that can sport 4 double-wide GPUs.  I've read that a company called Aprius had planned to produce an 8-way GPU system, but it looks like the product may have been cancelled.

I would much prefer an Opteron-based system.  I believe it's memory/cache hierarchy may provide more deterministic program execution (something that is important in our research).

Any recommendations?  Please tell me these systems exist!

0 Likes
21 Replies
empty_knapsack
Adept II

Opteron 8-GPU systems?

ATI drivers doesn't support more than 4 GPUs within single system. End of story.

0 Likes
gaurav_garg
Adept I

Opteron 8-GPU systems?

Ignore this message. Forum was giving an error when I replied.

0 Likes
gaurav_garg
Adept I

Opteron 8-GPU systems?

ATI drivers doesn't support more than 4 GPUs within single system. End of story.

This is not true. We have recently installed a 8-GPU (Firestream 9250) per node cluster on a customer site.

We are using 2 PCIe expansion system (each containing 4 GPUs) to add total 8 GPUs on one node.

0 Likes
Arakageeta
Journeyman III

Opteron 8-GPU systems?

What is the effect of using a PCI expansion box?  I presume it limits the memory/communication bandwidth available?

0 Likes
jross
Adept I

Opteron 8-GPU systems?

Originally posted by: gaurav.garg