cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

giordi91
Adept I

Getting started with clang to compile openCL kernel for AMD gpus

Good morning, as seems to be the practice of this community before getting to the problem I would like to introduce myself!

My name is Marco Giordano, I am a software engineer at Animal Logic, in Sydney currently working on high-performance software. I work in the VFX industry and worked on blockbusters like Avengers Age of Ultron (created and optimized the face rig of Ultron to run at acceptable speed in Maya, given the complex computation and crazy amount of polygons), also worked in the game industry at Frontier, on Elite Dangerous and so on.

I am a performance freak, I love c++ and I like to optimize code, get into the disassembly etc. I have been working 99% of my career with Cuda, but I am loving the new AMD platform and built myself a Ryzen 1700 and Radeon Rx 570 box to start to do my personal project on it. Currently, I would like to port some of my Cuda stuff on OpenCL and optimize for AMD hardware. I would like to do that leveraging clang for few reasons, first I want to leverage clang optimizations, second doing an offline build will let me know exactly what code I get, inspect the disassembly and do whatever needed to optimize, knowing that, that will be the code that will run.

I have been digging the web in order to find information about the clang-OpenCL-amd platform and I am confused on some points, and would love some help.