Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

denrage2006
Journeyman III

difference between VS pro & VS express

Hello,

I am quite new to VS programming but with a solid background in Fortran90 and  Matlab and I want to start learning OpenCL to take benefit from my radeon hd5850 I bought exclusively for this purpose.

So, I am at the installation part. My first question is the following.

What are pratically the difference between VS pro & express that justifies that the express  ed is not supported by the ati stream sdk?

Thank you for your kind answers,

0 Likes
9 Replies
nou
Exemplar

AFAIK express edition do not have support for plugins (or something else?) so you can't use performance profiler from VS. but you should be able to compile application which use OpenCL.

0 Likes

OK thanks. So I will first try with express version.

0 Likes

AFAIK, the express edition has these limitations:

1. No OpenMP support

2. No x64 support

3. No code sharing/team suport.

4. No plugins/add-ons

0 Likes

Thus I have a problem. I understand why I am facing difficulties with installation & compilations: I am on win 7 64bits. Is there a free alternative?

0 Likes

it lack support for compiling x64 application. compiling 32 bit application should work.

0 Likes

the thing which pushed me to use the x64 compiler was the 3GB limit the 32bits programs have when allocating memory on host memory. Performance-wise you'll probably have no noticeable difference on running kernels for x86 or x64 (unless you hard code some optimizations).