Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

perhaad
Adept I

Device Fission Core Utilization

seems like sub-device start one after another

Hello Everyone,

I am presently studying the performance of the device fission extension and partitioning kernels over CPU cores. I have written a simple microbenchmark that runs many small-ish matrix multiplications in many different queues. I am testing my example on a Intel Xeon CPU E5520 (16 CPU cores). 

However the problem I see is that while each command queue do use  a subsection of the device. Each subqueue runs serially.

I tried different partitions which are shown in the code snippet. When you use only 1 core per subdevice, I see CPU utilization using "top" remains 100%. However in the 2nd partition case the utilization moves from 200% to 300% to 400% (2,3,4 cores out of 16) over time which means that the queues are executing one after another.

I would expect the full CPU to be better utilized, since I enqueue ~ 300 to 500 kernels  of atleast 256*256 multiplication per queue. The only sync in this benchmark is at the end, where the code waits. I can see all the kernels get enqueued and the host waits at the end.

I populate a cIass "topology" with subqueues and so on. I understand its a mix of C and C++, but I dont expect it to matter ?

Does anyone have an toy example of device fission where you utilize all the compute units of the device with multiple subqueues ?  I have attached my code that creates command queues. I can send a test case if required. Using SDK 2.4

Thank You.

Perhaad