cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

walkershaw
Journeyman III

can CPU run kernel?

i'm studying HSA now and trying to compare CPU's & GPU's computing ability in my APU.

i found  CPU is just a agent, instead of a component. So that means i can't run the same kernel to compare the ability, right?

can you guys give me some advice. THX.

0 Likes
1 Solution

On Kaveri, coherent shared memory access by an HSA device (eg GPU) is slower than the non-coherent accesses normally used for graphics. On Carrizo the performance of coherent and non-coherent memory should be roughly the same.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
5 Replies
qtvali
Adept I

You can do it in several ways.

There are drivers, which are supposed to turn CPU into OpenCL device, as much as I understand:

windows - Install AMD OpenCL CPU driver with an Nvidia graphic card - Stack Overflow

OpenCL™ Drivers and Runtimes for Intel® Architecture

There are parallel languages (generators) with several targets:

http://parse.ele.tue.nl/research/bones/

http://streamcomputing.eu/blog/2013-12-20/simple-sum-cpu-openmp-opencl-gpu/

So either you write OpenCL code and find ways to run it on CPU, which is possible either through driver or through compiler, or you write some language, which can be transformed into parallel code through code generators or compilers.