cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

thesquiff
Journeyman III

CAL or IL any better?

I'm just getting started on GPGPU programming.

I see a lot of bug reports on these forums, particularly to do with Brook+.

I'd be interested to know peoples opinions of programming in CAL (or if I were really desperate, IL).

How does the reliability of the product compare to Brook+?

How does the development time compare to Brook+?

Are there any other advantages/disadvantages to programming in CAL over Brook+?

Cheers

Charlie.

0 Likes
10 Replies

Thesquiff,
CAL/IL is a more mature development API but also a lot lower and more difficult to both debug and use. CAL and IL go hand in hand. There is currently no other way to program with IL except with CAL and CAL currently accepts either ISA or IL.
Brook+ is a high level development model that abstracts away much more of the hardware/driver interface and handles much of the setup code for you in the Brook+ runtime/compiler.

That being said, CAL programs take longer and are more difficult to develop, but is currently the more mature stack. Brook+ development has undergone some major work in the past few months and is constantly improving.
CAL also has the advantage of getting new hardware features implemented first and can be used to get the maximum performance out of the hardware, but again at the cost of implementation and debugging time.

I'm sure others can pipe in with more details.
0 Likes
jean-claude
Journeyman III

Hi Charlie,

Just to comment on my own experience:

I started with Brook several months ago, I found particularly attractive the syntax very similar to C and the easy way of quickly having a GPU application prototyped.

However, the start was difficult mostly (at this time) because of incomplete documentation and several major bugs in the compiler, the run-time and the drivers...