cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMD EPYC™ Processor Lands at Strata New York

raghu_nambiar
0 0 1,503

After years of attending the Strata Data Conference, this is my first year at the show in my new role as Vice President and CTO of the Datacenter group for AMD. It’s also the first year for AMD’s new server processor, EPYC™, which only increases my excitement about the conference this week. The AMD EPYC processor is designed specifically for the modern datacenter with high core counts, access to large amounts of memory, ample memory bandwidth and massive I/O. All brought together with the right ratios to create an incredibly flexible workhorse able to meet the needs of a wide variety of workloads.

The big data revolution began with the ability to harness many computers in order to process large amounts of data (far larger than ever before). This was an innovative use of software that turned under-utilized smaller servers into a single data processing engine that unleashed the latent power of the data that is the beating heart of every business.

The next innovative leap provided the ability to process this huge volume of data in real-time. Advances in networking, storage and software technology enabled real-time streaming processing of huge volumes of data. We are now entering the next stage of innovation: real-time analysis. Analysis is what turns data into insight, and the combined efforts of the global community are making analysis of big data in real-time a reality. The AMD EPYC processors are perfectly matched to support the hardware underpinning all of the computation needed to support this effort.