cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

jimdish25
Journeyman III

HDMI Sound cuts out from Media Players

So I needed to bring an i5 laptop to work that I have been using for a few years as a video streamer to my AV Reciever via DisplayPort/HDMI without major issues.

To replace it I bought a Dell Precision M6700 with an AMD FIREPRO 6100 Card off ebay and went about reloading everything.

After hooking it back to my TV through a fairly new AV Reciever it seems to output fine but occasionally the sound cuts out when watching videos played through ANY of my Media Players. >> Movies & TV, WMP, MPC-BE, or AcePlayer/VLC.

However it does not cut out while watching Xfinity TV streaming through Chrome Browser. This seems very odd to me.

At first I tried LAV Filters, then disabled. Changed from Displayport (which worked fine on old Lappy to HDMI Port) . Same thing.

I'm just running out of ideas. The cutout is occasional and just a second or so then 5-10 mins it's good, then repeat. But it's ANNOYING.

I just updated clean to Radeon 18.12.2 drivers today but same issue. Can't figure if it's a driver issue, a a Windows 10 issue or conflict, or some codecs I need to change. This is really frustrating as I enjoy watching concerts I've downloaded (not much of a gamer-sorry). Otherwise the video through HDMI to the TV is great.

I'm running an i7-3740QM @2.7GHZ

16gb Ram

The M6100 Card Shows as Radeon HD 7800M with the current driver. It's different than the last update on the Dell website. It's fairly old.

ANY ideas would be welcome. Thanks - JD

0 Likes
2 Replies
jimdish25
Journeyman III

After multi-diagnostics and cleaning finally uninstalled the newer drivers completely and prevented windows from updating the device ID drivers after it installed generic drivers.