cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

pvcdroid
Adept II

OpenCL still not working with 18.10.1

Here I am trying to keep my system up to date and what happens again?

AMD breaks it, over and over and over. I'm sick of it.

I installed the Windows 1809 on Saturday night before it was pulled. Yesterday I installed the patch for it. I posted that OpenCL was not loading after the first update. Hoping 18.9.2 would fix it but noooooooooooooo……!

Then hoped that 18.10.1 would fix it but noooooooooooooooooooooo

I'm a photographer and need OPENCL to run with my software. AMD broke it last year and I had to reset my system. This is an all day effort for me and I am sick of having to do it. For that matter, I don't know whether a reset would resolve the problem.

Many probably don't even know that OpenCL isn't loading with the new drivers. GPU-Z shows whether it's running or not. It makes a big difference in how well Capture One software runs on my system.

pastedImage_0.png

1 Solution

I appreciate all the feedback on my OpenCL issue. A Reset of Windows 10 1809 resolved the issue. Windows major releases and I do not get along. This is the third time over the past year I've had to reset after a Windows Upgrade. Combined with AMD's own drivers issues, this really is a PITA to isolate and resolve. The posters on this thread helped showing they were not having the same issues. I have found other discussions where some are having the same OpenCL problems.

I used the Win10 1809 Reset option where files and settings are saved. This was the first attempt before wiping the drive and reformatting with a full reset. I was lucky this time around since I've had to do the full format and reinstall of Windows 10 in the past to get OpenCL working again.

System:

Gigabyte Z270MX

RX480 8GB reference

32GB DDR4 3000

NVME 1TB WD Black

pastedImage_0.png

View solution in original post

0 Likes
12 Replies